The capital of Cyprus

Posted by

The capital of Cyprus is Nikosia. Sounds easy enough? Well it isn’t. The island of Cyprus is divided in to two parts. There is the Greek part, which is recognised as an independent country and then there is the Turkish part of the island. Officially they call themselves Republic of Northern Cyprus but only Turkey acknowledges the „Republic“.

Nikosia, is as divided as the rest of the island. One part of Nikosia is the capital of Cyprus, the other part capital of the Turkish part of Cyprus. One could say it is the only capital in the world that serves two countries.

The Republic of Cyprus is an EU member and also a full member of the UN. Nikosia, being the capital for both parts of Cyprus would internationally be considered the capital of the Republic of Cyprus.

Leave a Reply